Lucid Lynx is here

15 05 2010

The latest Ubuntu release 10.04 (Lucid Lynx) became available this April. I couldn’t refrain from installing it as soon as I’ve got it burnt on my CD. After couple of days I decided to share my experience.

Installation

First change I’ve noticed is the possibility to choose whether to run a liveCD version or start an installation. In previous versions, as far as I remember, Ubuntu used to boot the liveCD first. Than user could start installation process with a shortcut on the desktop.

Installation process itself looks very similar comparing to the previous release. All colors and outfit in general looks differently though. Again it took about 10 minutes to find all partitions on my disk (see Krotchety Koala) but I was already aware of it and I waited with patience.

After a reboot the system booted with no errors. Luckily.

“Start fast with Ubuntu”. Really?

Just after the installation it used to take about 6:30 minutes to boot from pressing the ON button to the login screen. I don’t have to admit it was far too much — especially that this Ubuntu release had been promoted as being faster than ever.

After doing some google research I found a very useful tool for linux. It’s called BootChart and can be easily downloaded and installed from Ubuntu’s repos.
sudo apt-get install bootchart
A chart generated with this tool helped me to locate the problem of slow booting. It was caused by fsck.vfat which meant that my Windows partition (FAT32) was scanned on each boot. Having struggled with partitions with the previous Ubuntu release I just did the same thing I had done before. I changed 1 to 0 in the last column of that partition’s entry in /etc/fstab which prevents the disk from being checked every time I boot the machine.

The next boot — and what a nice surprise. It took around 30 secs from power on to login screen. Good enough 🙂

Ubuntu One

Starting from Lucid Lynx the Ubuntu users have an on-line music store integrated directly in rhythmbox. First of all, I didn’t like that player but I decided to give it a chance. I imported my small collection of mp3s and played some of them. It simply worked. Than I browsed some music from Ubuntu One. At first glance I was impressed of the number of tracks available. I thought it would be just few songs and nothing interesting to me but I found something for me too. I decided to spend 0,99EUR for a song. I picked one up and went directly to checkout. I choose PayPal as a method of payment, because I have an PayPal account already. I went through checkout process — it’s nothing but a typical on-line store. I entered my PayPal credentials and got a screen where I could select a credit card and delivery address. I knew the latter is not necessary in that kind of transactions but I tried to change the address though. I gave up when the country selector stuck with Hungary and when I tried to change it to Poland it moved me back to the screen I mentioned above. Strange, I thought, and decided to continue without address change. I clicked continue and… I’ve got a blank screen with only a header above but no information whether the transaction succeeded or not! I looked for the track I had been about to buy but it where nowhere there. I re-run the process — picked up the same song, entered PayPal credentials, changed delivery address (this time with success!) and arrived to the same blank page.
Confused, with no song bought and uncertain about my PayPal account, I looked again at rhythmbox. Than I realized that my first good impression faded away and I don’t really its behavior. I like when a music player hides in the tray while minimized and when it pops up and hides when I click once on its icon in the tray. I closed the rhythmbox and run audacious which plays still my favorite on-line radio as I type now.

Conclusion

I like Ubuntu. I really do. I write such bitter words not to fright you away. I really think the Lucid Lynx release brings some new air to Ubuntu and that the projects move into the right direction. There is, however, still a lot of work to do but I hope it’s worth waiting. And by now I use and I will use Lucid Lynx… at least until Maverick Meerkat is out.

Actions

Information

One response

25 01 2012
Buying music on the Internet « Piotr Jankowski

[…] Lucid Lynx I use Ubuntu One Music Store to buy music on the […]

Leave a Reply

