Could not open location – Ubuntu bookmarks

15 05 2010

I don’t use places bookmarks in Ubuntu very often but I do sometimes. Recently I noticed, that those bookmarks that pointed to an FTP location did not start. I was given such a message:

Could not open location - screenshot

Reason

I did some research and found out that the file pointed by the bookmark really wasn’t there.
piotr@lenovo:/usr/lib/firefox$ ls -al
total 84
drwxr-xr-x 3 root root 4096 2010-04-30 22:28 .
drwxr-xr-x 254 root root 73728 2010-05-15 15:42 ..
drwxr-xr-x 2 root root 4096 2010-05-04 00:37 plugins

and that was probably because of “new” version of Firefox (3.5+).
piotr@lenovo:/usr/lib$ ls -d firefox*
firefox firefox-3.6.3 firefox-addons
piotr@lenovo:/usr/lib$

In a quest for the solution

I tried typical things people probably do in such situations. I reinstalled firefox; I changed the default Web browser in System -> Preferences -> Preferred Applications. Nothing helped.

Solved!

Finally I found the solution and because it was not easy to find with google I decided to put it here.

First I needed to run gconf-editor (ALT+F2 and type “gconf-editor” without quotes). Then I found a key:
/desktop/gnome/url-handlers/ftp/command
gconf-editor screenshot

I changed the “command” key’s value to:
/usr/bin/firefox "%s"
(TIP: use “which firefox” to find the location of application’s binary file). It worked. But I changed it again to:
/usr/bin/nautilus "%s"
and now I’ve got the default behavior for FTP bookmarks.

Hope it helps.

Actions

Information

One response

17 06 2010
BoyzMZ

I Love UBUNTU

Leave a Reply

